Question about data types importing from excel

Hi, I am a beginner who just started learning RStudio.

I am trying to plot my GPS marketshare data set using the command plot(gps$marketshare, gps$company) and I get the error message as shown in my screenshot:

However, this command works when using the default Iris data plot(iris$petal.length, iris$species)

I suspect this is because the data is of different types as typeof(company) outputs character while typeof(species) outputs integer.

May I know how to plot the data from my excel sheet and why is the imported data so different from the iris data.

Apologies if this is the wrong place to post this sort of questions and I would really appreciate any assistance!

Hi!

To help us help you, could you please prepare a reproducible example (reprex) illustrating your issue? Please have a look at this guide, to see how to create one:

Hi, thank you for the reply!

I tried my best to follow the instructions, is this helpful?

gps <- tibble::tribble(
           ~Company, ~MarketShare,
           "Garmin",          47L,
           "TomTom",          19L,
         "Magellan",          17L,
             "Milo",           7L,
            "Other",          10L
         )
head(gps)
#> # A tibble: 5 x 2
#>   Company  MarketShare
#>   <chr>          <int>
#> 1 Garmin            47
#> 2 TomTom            19
#> 3 Magellan          17
#> 4 Milo               7
#> 5 Other             10

The command I have issues with is plot(gps$company)

Thank you for the reply!

Indeed, plot() makes scatterplots by default, which won't work with characters. It need to be told explicitly that it's a categorical variable and not random characters. You do that by making Company a factor:

gps2 <- gps %>% mutate(Company=factor(Company))
plot(gps2$Company, gps2$MarketShare)

But there are also 2 other possibilities for this kind of data, that will automatically guess that Company is supposed to be a factor:

2nd method: use barplot