R Studio becomes exteremely slow after few days again and again

Dear Rstudio community,

i'm facing a rather mysterious and annoying problem. For the third time in 10 days now, my RStudio performance has turned into snail pace again.

I'm running the latest versions of R and Rstudio (as of 14-03-2019)

The previous 2 times I resorted to a complete wipe of all R and RStudio files on my hard disk, full re installation etc etc, but once again after a few days, the functioning has become tens if not hundreds of times slower than what it should be.

In particular I am trying to run my R Shiny app offline that I have been developing for the past 3 years.
In those three years I've rarely had any problems, and certainly not like this one.

I am becoming rather desperate as I do not understand why the functioning keeps going back to ultra slow mode.

Rebooting the laptop, reinstalling everything doesn't seem to help, or only for a few days.

Does anyone have any idea what could be the cause, or how to solve this?

I can provide what ever information needed to identify the cause of course.

I am running windows Pro 7
I'm running RStudio desktop and a local version of my shiny app
(but whole Rstudio is slow, not just my app)
Rsession is running around 300.000K on the start, and is super slow from the get-go after complete fresh reboot and start up, nothing else major running on the laptop
Rstudio.exe *32 is at about 220.000K Doesn't seem to be problematic.

compared to yesterday, I haven't changed anything on my laptop, but suddenly the speed of R is unworkable again, and this is the third time it occurs now in 2 weeks.

Sometimes RStudio also throws a "can't connect while checking for updates" on startup, but not always.

Thanks in advance for any help,

Mark v D.

hey Mark, I don't have an answer but here's a brain dump of things I would check. Others may give you more info.

1. What OS?
  2. Are you using any network drives or network resources?