R version 4.0.1, already installed rtools 40, errors installing packages, eg. devtools,

I've already followed the instructions in https://cran.r-project.org/bin/windows/Rtools/ for rtools40 installation suposedly needed to build R packages, not missing the ' Putting Rtools on the PATH' section.

But I keep finding error messages when trying to install devtools (or any other package) and also trying to call the package with library() command. I have read in FAQ forums that the reason could be in the environment variables and the PATH but I haven't been able to solve the problem. Any help would be very useful. (This is my first time using R or any ther language). Than you in advance! :pray:

My code:

> install.packages("devtools")
Installing package into ‘C:/Users/Carlos Rohán/Documents/R/win-library/4.0’
(as ‘lib’ is unspecified)
probando la URL 'https://cran.rstudio.com/bin/windows/contrib/4.0/devtools_2.3.0.zip'
Content type 'application/zip' length 350911 bytes (342 KB)
downloaded 342 KB

package ‘devtools’ successfully unpacked and MD5 sums checked

The downloaded binary packages are in
	C:\Users\Carlos Rohán\AppData\Local\Temp\RtmpYjdLEs\downloaded_packages
Error in fetch(key) : 
  no fue posible abrir el archivo 'C:/Users/Carlos Rohán/Documents/R/win-library/4.0/devtools/help/devtools.rdb': No such file or directory
> library(devtools)
Loading required package: usethis
Error: package or namespace load failed for ‘usethis’ in get(Info[i, 1], envir = env):
 no fue posible abrir el archivo 'C:/Users/Carlos Rohán/Documents/R/win-library/4.0/fs/R/fs.rdb': No such file or directory
Error: package ‘usethis’ could not be loaded

NOTE: I have installed R, RStudio and rtools40 all in the same directory in the C drive:

C:\R\rtools40

R has problems with non-ASCII characters and empty spaces in your windows user name, either change your username or install into the system level package library instead.

1 Like