Realtime data updates in Rstudio IDE

Is there any way to get realtime data updates inside Rstudio IDE, e.g. using mqtt and data frames!?

Not on the IDE as far as I know but you can certainly get mqtt messages on a shiny app for example, which could give you near real-time reactivity, also, if your data comes from a device that accepts serial connections you can take a look at this post

1 Like

Thank you so much for your answer.
Regarding the Shiny option I imagine that this could be an option for many.
For me, I am using mqtt in javascript already.
However, I would like to specifically perform on the fly data analysis using the R Studio IDE...as soon as the data is available to R Studio desktop.

I don't quite understand your specific use case, can you give a concrete example of your workflow or at least elaborate a little?

Note: Please bear in mind that I am not an expert in R or Shiny, and therefore I might not be aware of some of the existent packages or realtime data handling possibilities

Workflow:

1. Data is being published in realtime using a MQTT broker
  2. this data is generated in a webapp/javascript using Tensorflow and other computations
  3. This data is also associated to some web visualizations
  4. when something in this web visualization is interesting or when something is interesting in the data it would be great to be notified and to do a manual analysis immediately, e.g. using R Studio IDE
  5. it would be great to have a MQTT client subscriber running in R Studio IDE (especially if it is not blocking the R Studio IDE UI). Additionally, it would be great to be able to update a dataframe in R Studio in realtime and have in this same nonblocking code a flag to start a R based analysis
  6. or to simply be able to use the functionalities of R Studio IDE an run my analysis on the data collected so far, e.g. on the dataframe being updated by the MQTT subscriber.