Rstudio keeps crashing w adequate core and RAM, small data frames

Hi, all. I’m a newbie and I’m trying to do some really basic data cleaning, but Rstudio keeps crashing when I try to do really basic stuff like deleting columns and resaving the data frame under a different name. (example: write.csv(bike_trips_2019_Q2,"clean_bike_trips_2019_Q2.csv", row.names = FALSE))

I’m working with 4 data frames that range between 90 and 550 megabytes. The largest of these has a 1.5 million records.

Operating System: Windows 10
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3550 CPU @ 3.30GHz 3.30 GHz
RAM: 16.0 GB (15.9 GB usable)

I’m using Rstudio on Chrome.

Does anyone have any suggestions about what I can do to troubleshoot?

Thanks in advance!

This suggests you are using a server version of RStudio which doesn't use your local computational resources, can you clarify?

Thanks for replying to my question, andresrcs! :grinning:

Here is what I'm using:

RStudioVersion

In case you can't read the graphic for some reason, it reads:
"RStudio Workbench
2022.07.01 Build 554pro3"

Does that NOT use local resources? Can I solve my problem by somehow configuring Rstudio Workbench to use my local resources? If so, how would I do that? Or do I need to do something else?

RStudio Workbench is installed in your organization's servers and you access a Workbench session through a browser but the software runs on the server so it doesn't matter how much RAM you have available in your local system, you would need to ask your IT department to assign more memory for your user.

Since this is a paid RStudio product you could also contact customer support and I'm sure they would be happy to guide you through this.

Thanks for the info, andresrcs. That explains a lot.

I'm doing this project as a final project for a class I'm taking on Coursera, and also to use as the first piece in my portfolio before I go out looking for work.