Running GO code from R

just like Rcpp. is there any way I can integrate golang with R. I started learning it a few months ago and I found it very easy and very fast. I don't want to reinvent the wheel by learning c++. is there a way like Rcpp by which I can call go code from R and create functions or something similar.

Please if anybody has every used anything similar let me know. and If there is any such packge I would surely appreciate that.

1 Like

I know that @romain has done a series of blog posts about Go and R:

https://romain.rbind.io/blog/2017/05/14/calling-go-from-r/

https://romain.rbind.io/blog/2017/06/09/go-packages-in-r-packages/

https://romain.rbind.io/blog/2017/07/03/go-slices/

5 Likes

The intention is eventually to make something like Rcpp for go. I need to find some way of resourcing myself to that.

In addition to the blog posts @Aurele mentioned , there are bits and pieces in that gh org. It's very basic and proofofconcepty so far, but I do believe there is space for go in R.

6 Likes

I learned programming though VBA where for loops are bad and now i am in R again for loops are bad. FIRST time in my life i found for loops so easy and fast. I loved the language. If you could implement something like rcpp many people would love it.

Go is easier thann c++ that's what everybody said. I will look into the blogs and thanks for suggestion.

@romain is there any package that can do the heavy work i mean this stuff looked too difficult to me. I haven't read it yet cause i am surei won't get it. But just as curiosity is there any

I am not aware of any. For sure, these posts explore how i might eventually tackle the internals of such a thing.

As a user, you would not typically have to know any of that.

Some day, when i get time or funding or both, Iā€™d like to make that package.

And please at least do read the articles before declaring they are too difficult. It was more difficult and time consuming to write them.

4 Likes