Simple question about duplicate row names

Hello,

I am a beginner using R studio for an introductory econometrics course. I am using the Ecdat data set which contains panel data, and I want to make a multiple regression and then use fixed effects for individuals and time. Whenever I try to use the fixed effects function of the plm package, I get the following error message:

Error in `row.names<-.data.frame`(`*tmp*`, value = c("X1.2", "X1.3", "X1.4",  : 
  duplicate 'row.names' are not allowed
In addition: Warning message:
non-unique values when setting 'row.names': β€˜X1’, β€˜X1.1’, β€˜X1.2’, β€˜X1.3’, β€˜X1.4’, β€˜X1.5’, β€˜X1.6’, β€˜X2’, β€˜X2.1’, β€˜X2.2’, β€˜X2.3’, β€˜X2.4’, β€˜X2.5’, β€˜X2.6’, β€˜X3’, β€˜X3.1’, β€˜X3.2’, β€˜X3.3’, β€˜X3.4’, β€˜X3.5’, β€˜X3.6’, β€˜X4’, β€˜X4.1’, β€˜X4.2’, β€˜X4.3’, β€˜X4.4’, β€˜X4.5’, β€˜X4.6’, β€˜X5’, β€˜X5.1’, β€˜X5.2’, β€˜X5.3’, β€˜X5.4’, β€˜X5.5’, β€˜X5.6’, β€˜X6’, β€˜X6.1’, β€˜X6.2’, β€˜X6.3’, β€˜X6.4’, β€˜X6.5’, β€˜X6.6’, β€˜X7’, β€˜X7.1’, β€˜X7.2’, β€˜X7.3’, β€˜X7.4’, β€˜X7.5’, β€˜X7.6’, β€˜X8’ 

I looked around on different forums trying to find a way to make the values unique when setting the names of the rows, but I haven't had any success so far. Here's what I've done so far:

Wages <- plm.data(Wages, index = 595) #in order to get the id and time for the data from Ecdat

rownames(Wages) <- make.names(Wages[,1], unique = TRUE) #in order to try to make the row names unique

I've also created the following dummies:

allwage <- Wages$lwage

skin <- Wages$black

edu <- Wages$ed

years <- Wages$exp

Which I then tried to use with fixed effects in the following regression:

theFEline <- plm(allwage ~ skin, + edu + years, data = Wages, index = c("id","time"), model="within")

And that's when I got the error message.

I have a very limited idea of what I'm doing, and even less of an idea what to do next. Any help will be most appreciated.

BjΓΆrn

Hello @Burrez