Sorting Data from Excel - Not Sure Where to Begin (for non-programming class assignment)

Hi. I'm brand new to R Studio, which was just announced as part of class this week. The professor gave an assignment that basically expects us all to be pros at this language. I'm not a programmer and this is not a programming class, it's accounting.

Whatsmore, the professor has yet to tell us how to do anything except calculate a mean. Somehow we are just expected to learn this.

**The manuals and videos do not help me. I need someone to explain something. I'm not even sure where to start with figuring this out. **

Here's what we need to do: import data from Excel and then classify it into categories based on ranges of numbers. All of the data is a number from 1 to 6. We are supposed to put it into three categories (1 and 2 in one, 3 and 4 in another, 5 and 6 in another). These are results from a survey.

I know how to get the spreadsheet in, but how do I do the following?

• have the computer read the data from the first column in Excel
  • create a variable
  • come up with some way to sort it as mentioned above

Again, don't just refer me to some manual that I can't understand or some video. I need some direct answers please. Thanks.

You must have been given some pointers on how to do this? Being able to acquire knowledge to solve novel problems is highly valuable, so perhaps you are ment to solve this by putting the pieces together after reading and seeing relevant materials and perhaps doing some digging on the interenet? Also, consider discussing the assignment with your fellow students and get peer feedback on your suggestions.

Happy learning!

No. We were not given pointers. We were told how to import things into a program but nothing more. I've tried searching the internet, but how can you possibly start doing anything when you don't understand the manuals that are out there and need explanation?