Student, looking for help with rStudio and the acs package.

Hello, I'm a student currently taking a data science course, and we are using rStudio and the acs package. I've been searching the net but I can't find any useful resource that are specific to my assignments, nor anyone who really knows the R language/ acs package. I've spent the last three days asking google, stackoverflow, and following dead ends. Does anyone know of good resources (forums, sites, vids, tutors, etc...). So far, I've only found one book, but its about $40.00 and I dont know if it would help. Thank you very much in advance.

Are you talking about the acs package that retrieves US Census data from the Census API? If so, you might want to have a look at tidycensus, a more recent package for getting Census data into R. The package is well documented here: https://walkerke.github.io/tidycensus. In addition there is a DataCamp course taught by the author of the package and many blog posts you can find with example code. If you have specific questions, feel free to ask them here.

2 Likes

Thank you very much for responding and the link! Do you know of any forums like stackoverflow for the rStudio community, or anyone who tutors? The assignments I have are specific to themselves, and I have no idea how to get the data needed or create the reports. The tutors I've found so far are really expensive or just want to sell you the homework. If you know of anyone I can pay $20.00/hr.

Thanks again.

You are already in the forum you are looking for, and here you can find some advertised instructors

https://forum.posit.co/badges/103/instructor

To add, I think your best resource to tackle your assignments will be your course instructors and TAs. I'd poke them for the resources you need to be successful in your class.

In terms of finding tutors here, I don't think the instructors andresrcs recommended will be helpful, since they tend to be instructors focused on teaching larger classes for companies.