Subscription business model implementation on Shiny App

Goal

My goal is to create a shiny app that use Auth0 for authentication and Stripe for billing and payment in order to have a subscription based business model.

Background

Hello RStudio Community :wave: I am fairly new to Shiny and R technologies (well, web development in general). With that said, I am developing a Shiny App application which will offer paid subscription models. I plan to use shinyapps.io's implementation of this system as an example.

Example of shinyapps.io's billing implementation.

I have read about Stripe and how it can help me with this implementation. Furthermore, I am using Auth0 for my user authentication. All of this is running of a EC2 server using Shiny Server.

I went ahead and did the setup process for each service and technology, no issues here. The problem comes when I try to integrate said technologies with one another.

Main Issues

The first issue here has to do with Auth0, I have to know which registered user bought a subscription of mine. To do this, I have read that I can use an ID or Access Token; but I cannot find a way to access said token in a shiny app.

The second issue has to do with Stripe, I need a way to identify the user on Stripe. I was planning to use metadata (which both Auth0 and Stripe support) but in order to do that I need to solve the Auth0 issue first.

Tech Stack

I will really appreciate any help, feedback and references. If you know a stack or use of tech which can help me out solve my issues; or any of you need further context or clarification please let me know.

1 Like

A simple solution is to use:
Wordpress and Stripe and then use iframe to create a hidden link to your shinyapp.

You can also use shinyApps.io paid versions

Look at R Shiny package Polished from Tychobra; It is very promising. response and assistance from Andy Merlino is excellent.

Good Luck!

Hi,