Suppress startup message of dependency

I am pretty new to package development, and I am currently struggling with a rather silly issue. My package ("ggseqplot") has one dependency ("TraMineR") which displays its startup message (created with packageStartupMessage) every time my package is loaded. I have my own startup message, however, which also acknowledges the dependency and I want to get rid of the startup message of the dependency.

I assume that this has to happen within the .onAttachcall in "zzz.R". I tried a bunch of different solutions suggested on StackExchange, but I didn't succeed in getting rid of the dependency's startup message. I am very much looking forward to your suggestions for solving my little newbie problem.

1 Like

No silly issue / little newbie problem :wink:

Just to be sure, why is TraMineR listed in Depends as opposed to Imports? If it were Imports, its startup messages would automatically be removed.

Then, from reading R suppress startupMessages from dependency - Stack Overflow and from tests with a local example package I am under the impression that you can either

• use Imports instead of Depends,
  • use Suggests instead of Depends AND loading the TraMineR package in .onLoad(). You would also need some safeguards in tests as CRAN sometimes run tests without installing Suggested packages. By safeguards I mean something like a custom skipper that'd skip tests based on whether TraMineR is installed, see Skipping tests • testthat

Maybe someone else here will have other ideas though!

I started wondering whether TraMineR code could be amended to make the message conditional based on where it is attached from but I can't think of a solution. :sweat_smile:

Lastly here are some recommendations for making one's package easier to cite, that are not startup messages: rOpenSci | Make Your R Package Easier to Cite :smiley_cat:

1 Like