Switching R versions in RStudio Server (open source)

I am new to R, RStudio, RStudio Cloud, and RStudio Server. I recently tried fitting a neural net and svm models on my mac using RStudio Desktop. The process quickly overwhelmed my mac. I then tried using RStudio Cloud and did not see a lift in performance. It turns out that we only get 1 core per user. I then decided to launch RStudio Server on Amazon AWS.

I was able to install RStudio Server on an EC2 instance (CentOS) on Amazon AWS. AWS has a default version of R that you can install (R 3.4.1), which I did. I decided to to upgrade to R 3.6.0. I was able to install the newer version on R on the server. Now, I am attempting to tell the server to stop using the old version and start using the new version. I have looked at the documentation for managing the RStudio Server and found that you can use the command "rsession-which-r=/usr/bin/R" to update the setting in the server config file.

I have attempted to execute this command through a ssh connection to the server and also via the terminal in RStudio to no avail. I keep getting the prompt "No such file or directory". Below is a screenshot from the ssh session into the server:

14%20PM

I would greatly appreciate any advice you can give me to address this issue. I am just trying to switch between the versions of R I have installed on RStudio Server.

I don't use CentoOS myself but I think it also uses init.d files, so if you have one for RStudio you can modify your PATH there and make RStudio to use another R version (I can do this on Debian).

sudo nano /etc/init.d/rstudio-server
# PATH=/usr/local/bin/:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin

This command needs to be placed in a server configuration file, not run in a terminal. Add it to /etc/rstudio/rserver.conf using a text editor like vi or nano.