Teaching Newbie vs. Experienced Programmer

I sometimes have the opportunity to mentor individuals with learning R in my workplace. Typically the person who I'm working with has some experience with programming, so I try to relate R concepts to what they may already know from previous experience. However, now I'm working with someone who has no experience whatsoever with programming. I'm finding it a little bit more difficult to teach because I easily overlook very fundamental CS concepts which I don't even realize a complete novice may not understand (e.g. what is a variable/package, assignment of values to variable, etc.). Can anyone speak to the challenges of adapting teaching style to individuals with different levels of experience?

2 Likes

It's definitely a challenge. I teach a course within our Masters program that is designed for people coming from non-technical backgrounds, most of whom have never programmed before. Key points that I think I've learned:

• You have to teach about the emotions involved in programming. That gives students permission to have emotions and to have frustrations, and to share them with you (so you can help with the concepts). So I talk about "conversations with a literal idiot" (ie the complier/interpreter/commandline), and I talk about how frustrating and hopeless most error messages are. I also outline a reasonable range of time to spend on problems (since novices don't know). Finally I talk about "the pain you are feeling now that you'll later recognize as learning". Mostly I orient myself to "building technical self-efficacy" rather than teaching programming per se.