The Bookdown book I made is no longer rendering correctly.

I created a book entitled "Fantastic Genes and Where to Find Them" for a course. You can view it here:
https://bookdown.org/maria_gallegos/where-are-genes/

I used this manual successfully in the Fall of last year. This year I decided to combine chapters 1 and 2 and change the heading of chapter 1. I republished the book but the old chapter 1 can still be found (via google) and the table of content link for chapter 1 no longer works in my republished book. Instead, I get a "404 page not found" error.

Upon closer examination,
I discovered that I can find the correct chapter 1 if I manually input
1 Genes, Genomes and Genome Browsers | 09-Chapter or if I click the correct chapter 1 link following a google search.

What happened and how can I fix it? I am not a programmer but a biologist ... sadly.

I have another problem that I will ask later. It just seems like this whole thing started to get buggy unexpectedly this summer.

Hi Maria. My comments may not be helpful as I don't use bookdown.org. I instead knit the book locally and then use ssh to send the appropriate files to my host. That said:

• I assume you tried building the book multiple times to see if the issue persists?
  • Did you check whether your local book is different than the bookdown.org version?
  • When you say you "decided to combine chapters 1 and 2 and change the heading of chapter 1" what were the specific changes you made?
  • What are your various chapter names? Maybe you could post a screenshot or list of the directory? Are you following the conventions in 1.3 Usage | bookdown: Authoring Books and Technical Documents with R Markdown?
  • On bookdown.org can you see if the missing files (chapter1.html) are actually there?

You could also look try to look through the index.html file in the _book directory to see if this matches your expectation. (However, this requires that you can read html code.)

Hope this helps! - Bert