Tidyverse won't install

Looks like the dependency issue that it looks like a lot of people have.

I reinstalled RStudio then downloaded tidyverse with this:

install.packages("tidyverse", dependencies = TRUE )

Then I tried to open the tidyverse using:

library(tidyverse)

It told me it needed Haven so I tried to install that, and then it told me I needed readr so I tried to install that but it wouldn't.

So, now I'm stuck. I'm pretty new at all this and it's v off-putting. I was working away/learning some stuff now I'm losing whole chunks of a day by not being able to get the software to work.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Here's the code version:

> library(tidyverse)
Error: package or namespace load failed for ‘tidyverse’ in loadNamespace(j <- i[[1L]], c(lib.loc, .libPaths()), versionCheck = vI[[j]]):
 there is no package called ‘haven’
> install.packages("haven")
Installing package into ‘C:/Users/Antony.LAPTOP/Documents/R/win-library/3.5’
(as ‘lib’ is unspecified)

There is a binary version available but the source version is later:
      binary source needs_compilation
haven  1.1.2  2.0.0              TRUE

installing the source package ‘haven’

trying URL 'https://cran.rstudio.com/src/contrib/haven_2.0.0.tar.gz'
Content type 'application/x-gzip' length 204563 bytes (199 KB)
downloaded 199 KB

ERROR: dependency 'readr' is not available for package 'haven'
* removing 'C:/Users/Antony.LAPTOP/Documents/R/win-library/3.5/haven'
In R CMD INSTALL
Warning in install.packages :
  installation of package ‘haven’ had non-zero exit status

The downloaded source packages are in
	‘C:\Users\Antony.LAPTOP\AppData\Local\Temp\Rtmpm4urVj\downloaded_packages’
> install.packages("readr")
Installing package into ‘C:/Users/Antony.LAPTOP/Documents/R/win-library/3.5’
(as ‘lib’ is unspecified)

There is a binary version available but the source version is later:
      binary source needs_compilation
readr  1.1.1  1.2.1              TRUE