Time series forecasting for multiple SKU products

Hi All,

Merry X'mas and advance New year wishes!!

I am looking for some help on time series forecasting, I am a beginner here and have covered some learnings on the same as well. I have some 2000 SKU products(in First column) which has 36 months sales data(which is spread across from 2nd column to 37th column. I would need to apply some time series forecasting techniques like snaive,ARIMA, Holt's,SES,MA to these 2K SKU products, also would love to try out on something like spitting the data into training and testing and using it for modelling.

Therefore, output I would be expecting is resultant forecast for the next 36 months in the next subsequent columns for each time series forecast model. I did also refer to Robjhyundman's Batch forecasting, but it was little complex and time taking. Any advice would be much appreciated!!

Hyndman's recipe

library(forecast)

retail <- read.csv("https://robjhyndman.com/data/ausretail.csv",header=FALSE)
	retail <- ts(retail[,-1],f=12,s=1982+3/12)

ns <- ncol(retail)
	h <- 24
	fcast <- matrix(NA,nrow=h,ncol=ns)
	for(i in 1:ns)
	  fcast[,i] <- forecast(retail[,i],h=h)$mean

write(t(fcast),file="retailfcasts.csv",sep=",",ncol=ncol(fcast))

requires understanding several steps. Since the 2013 post, there are new tools to make this easier

Every R problem can be thought of with advantage as the interaction of three objects: an existing object, x , a desired object, y , and a function, f, that will return a value of y given x as an argument.

f(x)=y

Any or all of these three objects (in R, everything is an object) may contain other objects, including functions. We say that functions are composable, like f(g(x)).

In this case x is a composite of the 2,000 products and their respective 36 element time series. y is a composite of 2,000 time series models, perhaps including results of forecasting against a held-out portion of the data.