Trouble Plotting 20G Data

Hi Community.

Newbie here (Marcelo)

Thanks in advance for the support, we all know how valuable it is. Many thanks.

I am a Linux engineer that supports a RStudio host. No knowledge in RStudio and no access to the Graphical interface.

The user is not able to plot if uses a large amount of Data. Starting with 10 numbers is OK, 10K numbers is OK, 10G numbers is OK, but when taking the entire 20G file size RStudio chokes, does not return, and needs to be restarted.

I did not find any log on /var/log refering to RStudio.

Questions: Were RStudio logs are located? Can we access them through the GUI? If so do you have detailed steps, as I do not have access to the GUI and will have to instruct user?

If anyone have any path for solution please advise.

Many thanks,

Marcelo Carvalho | Sr. Linux AWS Systems Engineer

On Debian/Ubuntu systems this will typically be located at:

/var/log/syslog

On RedHat/CentOS systems this will typically be located at:

/var/log/messages

In RStudio Server Professional Edition 1.3.820-1. Which server version are you using and which OS?

Also, if more memory can be made available, increase the ulimit for the user under which the server runs to “unlimited.”

FYI......

Nothing much of logs here:

/home//.rstudio-desktop/log

ls -l *
-rw-rw-r-- 1 0 Jun 5 2019 rdesktop.log
-rw-rw-r-- 1 868 Jun 5 2019 rsession-mmustafa.log

Sorry, I took RStudio host to mean a server, rather than a desktop client.

So, the answer to log location depends on the OS under which the desktop program is running:

However, on my PopOS! 20.10 Ubuntu work-alike, the files are in ~/local/share/rstudio/log.

Log file: /home/roc/.local/share/rstudio/log/rsession-roc.log
--------------------------------------------------