Ubuntu 16.04 R-Studio Server Pro?

Hi Community,

My first post and a total newbie to R. I just installed as I thought R-Studio Server Pro on my Ubuntu 16.04 server. I followed the steps written at http://docs.rstudio.com/ide/server-pro/.
Now I was asked whether I had installed the free version of R-Studio or a trial version of Pro. So I tried the following command $ sudo rstudio-server license-manager status and got a manual how to use this command. Searching through the site of R I read that when license-manager is not working the free version of R-Studio is installed instead of Pro. Is that true or did I have a trial version of Pro (45 days free of charge)? I am a bit confused right now. Can someone please give me some more insight in what I missed or did not oversee?

Thanks in advance for reaction and kind regards,

Aad Dijksman

Hi Aad, welcome to community!

I am not sure you've made clear what you are trying to do. Are you trying to get rstudio-server pro up and running? or the open-source version? or an eval?

If you are a pro customer, this is something for which an RStudio support ticket https://support.rstudio.com/hc/en-us/requests/new is your best next step.

If you haven’t previously installed RStudio Server on your system then it will run in evaluation mode for a period of time before requiring activation.

1 Like

Hey Aad! In line with what @EconomiCurtis said, would it be possible to share the output of sudo rstudio-server license-manager status? That would help us determine whether you are running the trial of Pro or the open source version. Further, if you can tell us the name of the binary you downloaded to install the server, that would help us determine as well!

Hi EconomiCurtis,