Unexpected symbol in r script, please help.

So I'm absolutely new to R and entirely legally blind and use a screen reader, so I'm not completely useless. Anyway I'm just starting out and no matter how many times I try, I keep getting the unexpected symbol error when I run the script. I tried the code in the commandline and it works there... I'm learning from a book, anyways the code is below and is written as I wrote it in command line and it worked...
hellostring<-"hello world"
print[hellostring]

So what am I doing wrong in the script?
Thanks

Hello and welcome to the community.
Your issue is the type of bracket used. print like all r functions should be accompanied with round brackets ( )
R does use square brackets [ ] for accessing vector and lists.
In this case if you use round brackets your code will run fine.
Hope it helps

So I tried it with the following corrections and I'm still getting the same error.
Hellostring<-"hello world"
print(hellostring)

That must be frustrating
In this code there is an issue that the first assignment is to Hellostring capitalised and then the hellostring to print is uncapitalised. Can you copy and paste the following ?

hellostring <- "hello world"
print(hellostring)

I wonder whether the problem may be something else, I'll tell you my reasoning.
If I try the code you first shared, the one with square rather than rounded brackets, I actually get a different error than what you described.
The error I see says "Error in print[hellostring] : object of type 'closure' is not subsettable"
So I'm wondering, if your script may have other contents than just the hellostring assignment and print statement, because if you do, they might be the culprit...

There's nothing else in the script besides the hello world code.

ok, a few more questions to try and get to the bottom of this mystery!

how are you executing the script ?
by the mechanism of the run , or source buttons in the script window?