Using partial strings in variable names to convert data to long form in R

I was hoping I could pick your brains as to how to convert my data to long form in R.

I would like to separate out the condition, Chromophore, and source detector from the variable names in my dataframe. Below I pasted a few examples (but there are many more variables in the data frame). So I need to pick out "Angry" and "Happy" and put those into a variable "Condition", then the Chromophores Hbo , HbR , and Hbt , and finally the source detector pairs "1,1", "1,2" (perhaps searching and pulling for the text before and after the comma because I have 49 combinations of these).

Example variable names:

AngryHRFHbO,1,1 AngryHRFHbR,1,1 AngryHRFHbT,1,1 AngryHRFHbO,2,1 AngryHRFHbR,2,1 AngryHRFHbT,2,1 HappyHRFHbO,4,1 HappyHRFHbR,4,1 HappyHRFHbT,4,1 HappyHRFHbO,2,2 HRFHbR,2,2 HappyHRFHbT,2,2

Thank you for your help! I apologize for the formatting. This is my first time posting so I was not sure as to the best way to present the issue.

All the best, Caroline

Let's create example data (since you didn't provide a reprex):

library(tidyverse)
df <- c("ID", "Time", "AngryHRFHbO,1,1", "AngryHRFHbR,1,1", "HappyHRFHbO,4,1", "HappyHRFHbT,2,2") %>%
  map_dfc(~ runif(5)) %>%
  set_names(c("ID", "Time", "AngryHRFHbO,1,1", "AngryHRFHbR,1,1", "HappyHRFHbO,4,1", "HappyHRFHbT,2,2"))

Now to process these variable names, we need to have them as data in a column, so we need to pivot to the long format. We want to pivot all column names except "ID" and "Time".

df %>%
  pivot_longer(-c(ID, Time), names_to = "variable_name")

You could also select column names that starts_with() "Angry" and "Happy", there are a number of selection helpers available.

Then you can use separate to split on a separator, or extract to use a regular expression.

df %>%
  pivot_longer(-c(ID, Time), names_to = "variable_name") %>%