Warning glm.fit in pls logistic regression

Hey guys,
I am currently working on a project on pruning. I have three tables with up to 6 000 variables (it's text mining), and most variables only appear for a few observation. Am using a a logistic_pls regression with the package plsRglm (i this package require glmnet to work so it might be linked). But even after suppressing up to 90 of the unuseful variables i get 50 of the following warnings: "glm.fit: fitted probabilities numerically 0 or 1 occurred". I tries to look it up but the the solution I found on internet were not useful in my case.

Here is my code :

Reg4<-plsRglm(Agregate.progression~., Base_traitement4, modele="pls-glm-logistic",control=glm.control(maxit=100), nt=6, pvals.expli=T)
Reg4
finalmod4 <- Reg4$FinalModel

Base_traitement3 has 77 variables for 43 observation

I am a student in statistics and I still have a lot to learn, I'll be grateful if any of you can help me :slight_smile:
PS: am not a native English speaker so sorry if my english is so far from perfect, and sometimes i don't get it when people use abbreviation of statistical terms.

1 Like

My guess is that you have a data leak where at least one variable perfectly correlates with your target variable.

1 Like

Lot to learn about statistics! Personally in that realm I'm an ant in the Amazon forest and after 12 years of chewing haven't progressed much past my first fallen tree.

English is a world language. Even those of us who spoke it first and first learned to read and write in it use it wildly differently. The only standard for English is whether two people can make the needed adjustment on both ends to make it work for the communication needed. And by that standard our versions of English (or, at least, yours) are superb. The only language rules that count in this community are the rules of R syntax.