Web Scraping PHP tables

Hello everyone. I am new in R and am trying to web scrap data table from the following site:

http://www.css.gob.pa/p/grid_defensoria/

I want to download it or access it, clean it and save it as csv, xml, etc... I have tried the following options and didn´t do what I need.

content <- read_html("http://www.css.gob.pa/p/grid_defensoria/")
table <- content %>% html_table(fill= TRUE)

fileurl_CSS <- "http://www.css.gob.pa/p/grid_defensoria/"
planilla_CSS <- readHTMLTable(fileurl_CSS, header = T, which = 2, stringAsFactors=T)

Thanks for your help.

1 Like

I've been loving {chromote} for web scraping projects lately, so here's what I would do. Let me know if this works for you, or if you'd like any more explanation about the different pieces.

library(rvest)
library(chromote)
library(tidyverse)
library(tictoc)

# Scrapes the table in the website's current status
scrape_table <- function(chromote_obj) {
  chromote_obj$Runtime$evaluate('document.querySelector("#sc-ui-grid-body-c4716e4a").outerHTML')$result$value %>% 
    read_html() %>% 
    html_nodes("#sc-ui-grid-body-c4716e4a") %>% 
    html_table()
}

# Clicks through to the next page of the table
click_next <- function(chromote_obj) {
  js_click <- '$("#sc_grid_toobar_bot > table > tbody > tr > td:nth-child(2) > a:nth-child(8)")[0].click()'
  consult$Runtime$evaluate(js_click)
}

# Checks whether the "next" button is enabled or disabled
next_enabled <- function(chromote_obj) {
  img_html <- chromote_obj$
    Runtime$
    evaluate('$("#sc_grid_toobar_bot > table > tbody > tr > td:nth-child(2) > a:nth-child(8)")[0].innerHTML')$
    result$
    value
  str_detect(img_html, "enabled")
}

# Initialize a `chromote` session
consult <- ChromoteSession$new()

# Show the session (Not necessary for running, but it shows what's happening)
consult$view()

# Navigate to the page
consult$Page$navigate("http://www.css.gob.pa/p/grid_defensoria/")

# Initialize a tibble to store results
t <- tibble()
i <- 0