What test to use instead of wilcoxon signed rank test?

Hi!

I'm pretty new to R and statistics in general and have a question about which test to use in R. I am trying to look whether the average of the amount of a specific type of words in 32 conversations differs between type A and type B conversations (two independent groups). My null hypothesis is that the averages do not differ; the alternative hypothesis is that there is a significant difference. I cannot use a t-test for two independent groups, because my samples are too small (type A: n = 14; type B: n = 18). I wanted to opt for a wilcoxon test, but I have too many ties in the data. Is there an alternative?

Thanks in advance for your help!

There is no minimum sample size for a t-test. You should opt for a wilcoxon test if your data is non-normal.

I'll apologise in advanced for the long post, but hopefully it'll help you to get more robust results, rather than relying on the standard testing repertoire that a lot of people use, which is often not fit for purpose (which I believe is the case here based on what you've said about your data).

Based on the type of data you have, I'd suggest creating a Poisson Model (which is usually used for count data) and use the group as a covariate in your Model. The output for the Poisson Model will give you a coefficient, standard error and p-value for being in group B compared to group A.

Here's an example (which also demonstrates that your data should be in long format). I'll generate group A to have an average of 20 and group B to have an average of 24 and use your sample sizes as above (I'll set the seed so you can replicate the random number generation):

set.seed(101)

df_A <- data.frame(grp = "A",conv = rpois(14,20))
df_B <- data.frame(grp = "B",conv = rpois(18,24))

df <- rbind(df_A,df_B)

mod <- glm(conv ~ grp, data=df, family="poisson")