When dbplyr does not translate functions to SQL

I am new to databases and getting up to speed with dbplyr and the idea of conducting data transformation inside a cloud database and just pulling down the results. It makes sense to me in theory, but I'm getting stuck in cases where dbplyr does not (yet) translate some R code to an SQL statement. Here's a simple example:

library(tidyverse)
  library(dbplyr)
  library(RPostgres)
  library(DBI)

# to make a reproducible example database
# does not work for me because postgresHasDefault() == FALSE
#   con <- dbConnect(RPostgres::Postgres(), dbname = "testdb")
#   copy_to(con, rownames_to_column(mtcars), name = "mtcars")

# works outside of a database
  mtcars %>% 
    tibble::rownames_to_column() %>%
    mutate(nWords = lengths(strsplit(rowname, "\\W+"))) %>% # problem for dbplyr
    filter(nWords < 2)

As I understand it, dbplyr does not translate strsplit():

Failed to prepare query: ERROR: function strsplit(text, unknown) does not exist

This is a specific example of a general problem for me. I want to do some manipulation on a large table before I collect the results, but sometimes the manipulation code I write in R does not translate to SQL via dbplyr.

I could use some advice about how to approach these problems.

Any function that dplyr doesn’t know how to convert is left as is.

Is the answer to figure out the right SQL equivalent and use translate_sql()?

1 Like

As far as I know, you can simply leave the SQL command in your code and the dbplyr translation leaves it as is. Therefore you don't need to use translate_sql(). This has worked for me so far.

Maybe a dumb question here. Do I need to then figure out the SQL equivalent of strsplit() and just use that? Is that what you are saying?

1 Like

I think so, yes, but somebody else may have a better solution.

Thanks again, @martin.R.