Writing to multiple worksheets in an Excel workbook

Hi,

I would like to write some code that opens an excel workbook and then goes through every worksheet (which will have identically formatted tables) to perform a merge from a master table (that is held in R) so that for every worksheet, a cross reference is made.

In other words, for each worksheet a lookup is made for each row in column A to return a value from the master table (in R) and enter it into column F.

I am fairly new to this, but I have started creating some code that will open the excel workbook, and I can perform a merger to make the lookup. However, I am stuck with how to cycle through all worksheets and also how to write to them.

Thanks.

How did you read from the worksheets? If you use readxl you can list the available sheets with excel_sheets(), and simply open them one at a time.

As to how to loop, either you use a for loop or you put your operation in a function to call with map. You can see here for more information.

For writing, I don't think readxl writes in Excel (you'd have to write to csv, but then you can't have multiple sheets). A package that should work is openxlsx, but I don't think it can tell you how many sheets an Excel file has.

So easiest solution could be:

nb_sheets <- readxl::excel_sheets(filename)
wb <- createWorkbook(new_filename)

for(sheet in seq_len(nb_sheets)){
  content <- openxlsx::read.xlsx(filename, sheet = sheet)
  #do stuff...

openxlsx::addWorksheet(processed_data, wb)
}

Thanks, I'm having a play with this. I installed the openxlsx package but I get the error message that it can't find the function createWorkbook.

With the code you have provided, can I just check what this is doing please:

1. Opening and reading a workbook (I replace "filename" with the file I want it to open - do I need to provide the path or will it default to look in the folder the R script is in?
  2. Creates a new workbook with the name "new_filename".