Error loading tidyverse - Error: package or namespace load failed for ‘tidyverse’ in dyn.load(file, DLLpath = DLLpath, ...): unable to load shared object

I am having trouble loading the tidyverse library. I am new to R. After installing packages using:

install.packages("tidyverse",dependencies = TRUE)

No problem thus far... but then I try to load the tidyverse library:

library(tidyverse)

I get the following:

Error: package or namespace load failed for ‘tidyverse’ in 
dyn.load(file, DLLpath = DLLpath, ...): unable to load shared object 
'/Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.6/Resources/library/Rcpp/libs/Rcpp.so':

dlopen(/Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.6/Resources/library/Rcpp/libs/Rcpp.so, 6): 
Symbol not found: ___cxa_uncaught_exceptions Referenced from: 
/Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.6/Resources/lib/libc++.1.dylib Expected in: 
/usr/lib/libc++abi.dylib in /Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.6/Resources/lib/libc++.1.dylib

I have tried installing and uninstalling R, with no effect.

I'm using Version 1.1.463 – © 2009-2018 RStudio, Inc. for use with OS X El Capitan Version 10.11.4

1 Like

If the tidyverse package doesn't load, it probably means it didn't install correctly the first time.

Please rerun the package installation, then pay careful attention to the final output. If you find any errors reported in the console, please post these here, so we can help troubleshoot.

2 Likes

Have you tryed removing and reinstalling Rcpp package?

Hi andrie and andresrcs, thank you very much for your replies!

When I try to remove Rcpp - it says it's not there:

remove.packages("Rcpp","tidyverse")
Error in remove.packages : there is no package called ‘Rcpp’

After which I removed tidyverse, and got the following:

remove.packages("tidyverse")
Removing package from ‘/Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/3.6/Resources/library’
(as ‘lib’ is unspecified)

install.packages("Rcpp","tidyverse")
Warning in install.packages :