Adding a normalcy curve to a histogram?

Working through an assignment for my stats class, to add a normalcy curve (?) to a histogram. I can create the histogram, but when I type in the code exactly as it appears in the textbook I get an error message:

Here's the code (histsugars is the name of my histogram)
histsugars+stat_function(fun=dnorm, args=list(mean=mean(cereal$sugars, na.rm=TRUE, sd=sd(cereal$sugars, na.rm=TRUE) colour="black" size=1)

And here's the error message:

Error: unexpected symbol in "histsugars+stat_function(fun=dnorm, args=list(mean=mean(cereal$sugars, na.rm=TRUE, sd=sd(cereal$sugars, na.rm=TRUE) colour"

I have NO IDEA what the unexpected symbol is. I've added parenthesis, taken parenthesis away, triple-checked the code against what appears in my textbook, and I am stumped.

I count 4 opening brackets '(' but only 2 closing ')'

1 Like

So where do the closing brackets even go?? Is there an easy way to keep track of this?

Sorry, I'm VERY new to this & I find reading my code a little challenging.

Here's my new code. I still get an error message:

histsugars+stat_function(fun=dnorm, args=list(mean=mean(cereal$sugars, na.rm=TRUE), sd=sd(cereal$sugars, na.rm=TRUE)), colour="black" size=1)

You might need a comma between 'black' and size.

Generally I would advise trying to do the least, and then refining by adding in elements such as colouring after you have worked out the core maths and function of what you are trying to achieve. When learning something new over ambition and trying to implement too much at once can slow you down in the long run.

Okay, I tried: "histsugars+stat_function(fun=dnorm, args=list(mean=mean(cereal$sugars, na.rm=TRUE), sd=sd(cereal$sugars, na.rm=TRUE)), colour="black", size=1) and get one of two error messages:

1. function stat_function not found or
  2. unexpected error