Aggregate data set by year (year is the column name and the years are in the rows of the table)

Hello, I am a basic beginner in R. I'm trying to perform a very simple aggregation of data. I have a table read into R with a column for Year and a column for Rainfall. I want to be able to total rainfall by year. Not sure how to do this. Can anyone help?

Hi Scott, welcome!

You could do something like this

library(dplyr)

your_dataframe %>% 
    group_by(Year) %>% 
    summarise(Rainfall = sum(Rainfall))

If you need more specific help please provide a minimal REPRoducible EXample (reprex). A reprex makes it much easier for others to understand your issue and figure out how to help.

If you've never heard of a reprex before, you might want to start by reading this FAQ:

Thank you so much for your help! It partially worked, but for some reason, its giving me the overall total for each year. Here is the code I used and the result:
Rtest

Please make your question with a reproducible example as requested before. I can't test your code from a screenshot (not a good thing to do here) but you shouldn't be using GBR$ when using piped syntax.

Is this what you're looking for? My apologies, I'm not that technical yet, just getting started.rtest2

If you remove the GBR$ from your group_by and sum function calls, it should fix this. Within the dplyr pipeline, you do not need to use the data.frame name. You can just call the variable names (i.e. X.Year and Rainfall..m.

Hi @ScottW ,

What @andresrcs is asking for is, rather than posting screenshots of your code/output, if you can can provide the code you're running (e.g. as text, you can copy it in to here in between two sets of ``` to format it as code). Specifically, it would be helpful to create an example of your code that we can reproduce on our own computers. That post that was linked to (FAQ: How to do a minimal reproducible example ( reprex ) for beginners) will show you how to make a redproducible example.