Analyse Data blindly

Hello! I'm a student with only little experience in R. For my student job I am currently working on a employee survey regarding diversity and inclusion. Because of data protection I would like to analyse obtained data without being able to actually view the datatable. I imagine only knowing the structure of the data table, i.e. meaning of columns (categorial and numerical variables) and rows (subjects). For t-tests, analyses of variance, linear regression etc. I would have to clean the data set, though (missing values and outliers etc.). I'd be very grateful vor any tips and advice!

Thanks a lot and best of health

D

What could possibly go wrong?

Every R problem can be thought of with advantage as the interaction of three objects— an existing object, x , a desired object,y , and a function, f, that will return a value of y given x as an argument. In other words, school algebra— f(x) = y. Any of the objects can be composites.

Usually, we have the benefit that x is, at the beginning, populated, and we can inspect it for properties that must be transformed through one or more f s before we can apply the f or f s that will yield y. Here, you must work backward from y to anticipate the transformations that are needed.

This suggests that y is the place to start—select the questions that you wish to put to the data. Under the principle of lazy evaluation there should be no effort applied to cleansing data that will not be used. So, identify all of the descriptive or test statistics first.

Next, phony up some data to apply to each of the tests (often you can crib this from the help page examples) and write your own functions to call them, such as

get_basics <- function(x) {
  Mean = mean(x, rm.na = TRUE)
  Median = median(x)
  return(c(Mean,Median))
}

get_basics(mtcars$mpg)[1] - get_basics(mtcars$mpg)[2]
#> [1] 0.890625

(Not that you'd particularly need this example.)