Background images in shiny

I'm new to trying to develop unique pages in shiny using css styling or html, advice or pointing in the direction of a good tutorial would be appreciated. I'd like to create a background for my home landing page that is 4 images, where each takes a corner of the background and they come together with no padding. Then an overlay with some opacity lays on top where text will sit. I haven't worked in html in many years and am confused about how to work in css into the shiny html coding.

shinyUI(navbarPage(title = 'National Park',
tabPanel(title = "Home", img(src="buffalo.png", align = 'left'),img(src="aerial.png", align = 'right' ),
img(src="sign.png", height="100%",width="100%"), img(src="stairwell.png", height="100%",width="100%"),
img(src="skylake.png", height="100%",width="100%"), img() ),
tabPanel("data"))
# create a text box that lays on top, with height and width of 80% of the screen. 
div {
  opacity: 0.5;
}

# some code I saw for first, placing in a background image, and then aligning them in the    # same row
body {
  background-image: url("header.png");
  background-position: left top;
  background-color : #000000; 
}

column {
  float: left;
  width: 50.00%;
  padding: 0px;
}
1 Like
      tabPanel(title = "Home", fillPage(
        tags$style(type = "text/css",
                   ".half-fill { width: 50%; height: 400px; }",
                   ".centered { width: 75%; height: 600px; opacity: 0.5; margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto; margin-top: auto; font-family: arial; color: black; }",
                   "#one {  float: left; background-size: cover; background-image: url('buffalo.png')  }",
                   "#two {  float: right; background-size: cover; background-image: url('aerial.png') }",
                   "#three {  float: left; background-size: cover; background-image: url('sign.png')  }",
                   "#four {  float: right; background-size: cover; background-image: url('stairwell.png')  }",