Calculate Conditional Mean

Hello!

I am new to R so learning this is very difficult for me. I have a data set that has a number of variables that pertain to football teams. Some of these variables are: number of wins, average attendance, % conversion on 4th down, the year. I need to derive the mean number of wins for "Ohio State" in the block 2000-2016. Any and all help is appreciated. I attached a screenshot just to give you an idea of what I am working with.

Hi @jym5556 - welcome!

Assuming that you have the data in memory in R as footballdata_econ_485, you might want to try something like

footballdata_econ_485 %>%
    filter(between(year, 2000, 2016), 
           school == "Ohio State") %>%
    summarize(mean_wins = mean(wins))

which should give you a data frame with one element -- the element that you want.

Does that work?

2 Likes

Thanks for the help. I ran into an issue with this. It stated error in between(year, 2000, 2016) : object 'year' not found. This doesn't make sense to me as year is the column in the screenshot. Sorry, I am brand new to this and need lots of help.

Hi, welcome!

To help us help you, could you please prepare a reproducible example (reprex) illustrating your issue? A reprex makes it much easier for others to understand your issue and figure out how to help.

If you've never heard of a reprex before, you might want to start by reading this FAQ:

1 Like

Thanks for the message @jym5556 - I just want to follow up a bit on @andresrcs's post above -- without enough information, it is hard for us to identify what's going on. If I had to guess, the issue is with the way you are importing data into R.

When I have an excel file, I default to using the readxl package to read in my file nicely.