Can't type in the script window-newbie question

Newbie here. Been writing R (really S & S+) on and off for 30 years. New to Rstudio. I place my cursor in the scripts window and I can't type anything. All of the youtube tutorials assume you can just place your cursor and type. I can navigate in the window and run code, but not enter or paste anything. I tried hitting the insert key and various things, no help. Surely, this is a simple problem. Thanks!

1 Like

I personally am unlikely to be able to help you with this, but I'm pretty sure some system info will be handy for troubleshooting (OS, RStudio version, special keybindings, etc).! Good luck.

Windows 7, i7, 12 gigs ram, latest versions of Rstudio and R, no special keybindings or anything like that, that I know of. Thanks!

My best advice:

(And that's serious -- go through a full reboot)

Other than that, you could try reinstalling RStudio and resetting its state:

Also, if you can take a screenshot of the difficulty, it's possible that will trigger something else.

2 Likes

Maybe dumb question/suggestion: did you already do file - > new_file - > r script from the. Top Menu to create a new script?

Aha! That's the problem. I was clicking on a function in the environment window. That opens the file, but apparently not for editing. This runs a function view(myfunction), which obviously is for view only. If I try edit(myfunction) it opens it for editing in a separate window. Now the only remaining question is how to edit it in the script window?

1 Like

To open an existing file open it from the files tab.

To open a new script file use the file command.

If you make an RStudio project it will set all this stuff up for you and keep track of a project directory for you.

In the dropdown from the file command select "new project" instead of new file.

Or to directly open a file without using the files tab use "open file" from the file drop down.

2 Likes