Can't use "aes" function

Hi,

I'm trying to move my point labels so that the labels don't overlap the points. I am using the "geom_text_repel" to complete this, which requires the "aes()" function in order to work. However, the "aes()" function isn't available on my R version. Is there another way to stop my labels from overlapping with the data points? Thanks in advance.

I think rather than use points you should be using ggplot2 which can interact with geom_text_repel , and that knows what aes is.
aes is not a package.

library(ggplot2) # install.packages("ggplot2") if needed

okay, let me try that

I updated ggplot2 but now I keep getting this...

Error in ggplot2(phylum.t2.dca, display = "site", choices = 1:2, pch = c(15,
could not find function "ggplot2"

Can you provide your full code using ggplot2?

I'm brand new at coding so this ggplot2 code may look like crap:

ggplot2(phylum.t2.dca, display = "site", choices = 1:2, pch = c(15, 16, 17), col = point_colors) + ggrepel::geom_text_repel(aes(phylum.t2.dca))

Here is my full code:

#Updated DCA Analyses

WD <- "C:/Users/"

setwd(WD)

require(vegan)

phylum.dat <- read.csv("Phylum data for R.csv", stringsAsFactors = T, header = T, row.names = 1) # preform dca on data set

phylum.t1 <- decostand(phylum.dat, "total") # percent transformation on samples; “total” method defaults to rows (samples)

phylum.t2 <- decostand(phylum.t1, "max") # percent of maximum transformation on taxa; “max” method defaults to columns (taxa)

phylum.t2.dca <- decorana(phylum.t2) # default ira=0 specifies DCA

phylum.t2.dca.DW <- decorana(phylum.t2, iweigh = 1) # iweigh=1 turns on down-weighting of rare taxa, dampening their effects on the ordination

names(phylum.t2.dca) # view items in list produced by decorana

summary(phylum.t2.dca) # view summary of dca results

phylum.t2.dca.taxonscores <- scores(phylum.t2.dca,display=c("species"), choices=c(1,2)) # extract scores from decorana output; extracts axis 1 & 2 scores for taxa