Carrying names forward when assigning a reactive gives `Error in UseMethod: no applicable method for 'filter' applied to an object of class "c('reactiveExpr...`

Hi, I'm new to Shiny and noticed something that prevents my typical coding practice (which is maybe bad?).

Something like this will give an error:

years_server <- function(id, .data){
  moduleServer( id, function(input, output, session){

.data <- reactive({
      .data |>
        dplyr::filter(year %in% input$year[1]:input$year[2]) 

})

output$table <- renderTable(.data())
})
})

But when writing a general R function, this is fine:

summarize_years <- function(.data){

.data <- .data |>
    dplyr::arrange(year)

.data

}

Why is that?

Reprex below:

library(shiny)

ui <- fluidPage(
  mainPanel(
    tableOutput("table")
  ),
  sliderInput(
    inputId = "mpg",
    label = "Choose mpg",
    step = 1,
    sep = "",
    min = 15,
    max = 20,
    value = c(15, 20)
  )
)

mpg_server <- function(id, .data){

.data <- reactive({
      .data |>
        dplyr::filter(mpg %in% input$mpg)

})

})
}

server <- function(input, output, session, .data) {
  .data <- mpg_server("test", .data = mpg)
}

shinyApp(ui = ui, server)

I think its bad practice to reuse (a very generic name) for different purposes.
What is .data ? A parameter sent into your module ? Or a name of a reactive defined by your module.

In the definition you are necessarily referring to the param sent in, was that a reactive ? If it was you would need to acess the value via brackets in the standard way. .data()

.data is a parameter which will take a data.frame.

The error message clearly shows that R thinks you are trying to filter a reactive.. and not a data.frame. First step is to edit your names to disambiguate them, as i said previously

Hi Adam :wave:

As @nirgrahamuk points out, the issue stems from name collision.