Checking for assumptions in GLM and LME correctly

Hi there all!

I am struggling to correctly interpret how to check for the assumptions in my models. As I am still learning statistics and the use of R studio in this, some advice would be very much appreciated!

I've made 2 (2 dependent variables, calcium and ketone bodies) x 4 (with different combinations of 2 random factors namely none (GLM), farm, parity and farm and parity) models with a total of 5 x 3 independent variables which i've reduced to the final model based upon the AIC codes. The independent variables are the 5 behavioural classes divided over 3 weeks (week -3 to -1).

Beforehand, i've checked the distribution (using visualization using histograms) of both the dependent variables, one of which was positively skewed so i log transformed, the other was normal distributed. The independent variables were all normally distributed except for one which was mildly positively skewed, but i didn't transform this one (as i've read normal distributed independent variables is not one of the assumptions of a GLM or LME). Furthermore, i visually checked both the independent and dependent variables per random factor. The independent variables were different per random factor (in my case: per farm, certain mean behaviour times were definitely different, on one farm the cows eat more, at a certain parity they walk less etc). The dependent variables were not altered, just normally distributed.

I understand that at the end of the final model, some visualization is needed to check if all the assumptions were met in the models. Firstly, i found this a bit confusing as i thought that i already did this using the histograms checking for distribution? But that's not enough? So then i did new visualization using plot(finalmodelname) and qqnorm(residuals(finalmodelname)). Based upon what i've read and seen (youtube tutorials) so far.