I am new to lubridate
I am taking the function

library (lubridate)
	date1<-lubridate:: date ()
date1
[1] "Sun Mar 17 20:17:39 2024"
class (date1)
[1] "character"

I would like to format this "Sun Mar 17 20:17:39 2024" into "Sunday 17-03-2024; 20:20"
I cannot manage it by using ymd_hm () or any other lubridate function
Thanks

1 Like

You can change the string "Sun Mar 17 20:17:39 2024" into the string "Sunday 17-03-2024; 20:20" in a few steps. The only use of lubridate in my code is to round the value to the nearest 5 minutes. The rounding is my guess at your intention in changing the time from 20:17:39 to 20:20.
Since the final result is a string, you can't do calculations or most plotting functions with it.

Timestamp <-  as.POSIXct("Sun Mar 17 20:17:39 2024", format="%a %b %d %H:%M:%S %Y")
Timestamp 
#> [1] "2024-03-17 20:17:39 MDT"
RndTimestamp <- lubridate::round_date(Timestamp, unit = "5 minutes")
RndTimestamp
#> [1] "2024-03-17 20:20:00 MDT"
strftime(RndTimestamp, format = "%A %d-%m-%Y; %H:%M")
#> [1] "Sunday 17-03-2024; 20:20"

Created on 2024-03-17 with reprex v2.0.2

1 Like

Hi,
Many thanks for your time and help,
However, when I use this code in RStudio, I get this

Timestamp <- as.POSIXct("Sun Mar 17 20:17:39 2024", format="%a %b %d %H:%M:%S %Y")
Timestamp 
[1] NA

Thanks

Very strange. I copied your text and it ran with no problem.

I wonder if you have some package loaded that is generating a conflict? What happens if you try the code in a new session?

The help for as.POSIXct() includes the following

If format is specified, remember that some of the format specifications are locale-specific, and you may need to set the LC_TIME category appropriately via Sys.setlocale . This most often affects the use of %a , %A (weekday names), %b , %B (month names) and %p (AM/PM).

I have never used Sys.setlocale, so I can't offer guidance immediately but I'll look into what needs to be done.