Convert to time series

Hello everybody,

i am a student from Hamburg, Germany and i want modify some electricity-data(Regelzonensaldo) to a time series (XTS), but i don´t know how to merge the two columns(Date and Time) into one.
I tried:

as.Date(Gesamt_Regelzonensaldo_csv$Date, format = "%d/%m/%Y")

as.POSIXct(paste(Gesamt_Regelzonensaldo_csv$Date, Gesamt_Regelzonensaldo_csv$Time), format="%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S")

with(Gesamt_Regelzonensaldo_csv, ymd(Date) + hms(Time))

but it didn´t work.

Regelz|307x480

Maybe the problem is the periods in the dataset? I attached a picture. I hope somebody is able to help me.

Kindly regards

FelixRegelz

Hi!

To help us help you, could you please prepare a reproducible example (reprex) illustrating your issue? Please have a look at this guide, to see how to create one:

Hi FlexR,
and welcome to the RStudio Community!

Dig into the FAQ about how to REPREX.

Here is an example of a REPREX to help you get started, using some lubridate functions.

library(tidyverse)
library(lubridate)
#> 
#> Attaching package: 'lubridate'
#> The following object is masked from 'package:base':
#> 
#>     date
df <- data.frame(
  date = c('01.01.12', '01.04.12', '01.15.12'),
  time = c('01.12', '04.16', '08.44')
)

df %>% 
  mutate(dttm = mdy_hm(paste(date, time)),
         date = mdy(date),
         time = hm(time))
#>         date      time                dttm
#> 1 2012-01-01 1H 12M 0S 2012-01-01 01:12:00
#> 2 2012-01-04 4H 16M 0S 2012-01-04 04:16:00
#> 3 2012-01-15 8H 44M 0S 2012-01-15 08:44:00

Created on 2019-11-07 by the reprex package (v0.3.0)

hello, thank you so much!

Hey again,
thank you one more time for your advice. I tried my best to convert with your given code and it worked for many rows but i have now the the message:

Warning messages:
1: 142443 failed to parse.
2: 139483 failed to parse.
3: In .parse_hms(..., order = "HM", quiet = quiet) :
Some strings failed to parse, or all strings are NAs