Converting Axes to Lat/Lon?

Hi,

I generated some graphs using RStudio, but my axes are in terms of meter. How can I convert axes to Latitude and Longitude values?

April7th

I'm not sure, but the following SO thread may be useful:

Thank you but I'm pretty new in R, so I tried but it did not help :frowning:
Is there anyone who can help me on this?

Can you share the code you used to make the plot above? There is no hard rule for meters >> long/lat without some extra context...

Here is the code that I'm using:

Ok that's a good start. Could actually copy and paste the code as text instead of an image. The reason is I would like to try and reproduce it in my RStudio IDE and without text I would have to re-type everything and https://media.giphy.com/media/10PcMWwtZSYk2k/giphy.gif

#set projection of coordinates to lat/long
proj4string(points)<-CRS("+proj=longlat +datum=WGS84 +no_defs +ellps=WGS84 +towgs84=0,0,0")
#crs(points)<-"+proj=longlat +datum=WGS84 +no_defs +ellps=WGS84 +towgs84=0,0,0"
#tranform lat/lon to EASE-Grid 2.0 (original EASE, global cylindrical equal area, WGS84 projection)
points<-spTransform(points,CRS("+proj=cea +lat_0=0 +lon_0=0 +lat_ts=30 +ellps=WGS84 +datum=WGS84 +units=m"))

data<-as.data.frame(SMSM)
data<-unlist(data)    #unlist data frame to get vector of soil moisture
data <- SpatialPointsDataFrame(points, data.frame(data))    #add soil moisture data to spatial object

###instead, used "SpatialPixelsDataFrame" with tolerance limit for irregularity
###see bottom of: http://gis.stackexchange.com/questions/79062/how-to-make-raster-from-irregular-point-data-without-interpolation
data <- SpatialPixelsDataFrame(data, tolerance = 0.000163453, data@data) # 8.17194e-05
data <- raster(data[,'data'])

plot(data)

x2 <- c(8200000)
y2 <- c(3450000)

points(x2, y2, pch=8, col="blue")
plot(yourshapefile, add = T)

1 Like