Create new column within dataframe within function

Hello, I am new to R and trying to write a function that will remove outliers for many variables in my data frame and create a new variable with the outlier blank. I think the function is working, but the new variable does not appear in the data frame.

remove_outliers <- function (dataset, column, column_new) {
column <- eval(substitute(column), dataset, parent.frame())

Q <- quantile(column, probs = c(.25, .75), na.rm = FALSE)
iqr <- IQR(column)
up <- Q[2] + 1.5 * iqr # Upper Range
low <- Q[1] - 1.5 * iqr # Lower Range

dataset[[column_new]] <- ifelse (column > up, "",
ifelse(column < low, "",
column))
return(dataset)
}

remove_outliers(study,
day35_freecort_cortisone,
"day35_freecort_cortisone_x")

You have to save the returned value of the function in a variable.

study <- remove_outliers(study, day35_freecort_cortisone, "day35_freecort_cortisone_x")

Also, replacing a number with an empty string will convert the whole column into characters, which you probably do not want. You can use NA instead.

Thank you very much for your help - I will use NA instead. I thought I was storing the value in a variable by writing the following:

dataset[[column_new]] <- ifelse (column > up, NA,
ifelse(column < low, NA,
column))

Is there something else I should write? Thank you again!