“edit” and “read.table” on R for Mac

Hello,

I am new to R, and just trying to follow and practice what I am learning in class. We learnt the other day “edit” and “read.table” functions. However, I am using macOS High Sierra and both functions didn’t work on R for MAC. Is there anyone professionally using R for Mac?

Demographics <- data.frame(Race=character(0),Age=numeric(0),Gender=character(0),Education=numeric(0))
Demographics
Demographics<-edit(Demographics)

Data1<-read.table("Demographics.txt", header=TRUE, sep=" ")
Data1

The above code worked just fine on R for windows, but not on R for Mac. Can anyone please help me with that? Thank you

Have you loaded the necessary libraries? One of the nice things about making a reprex (short for minimal reproducible example) is that it helps you double check that your code is self-contained. It also helps us help you, since we can be sure we're all working with/looking at the same stuff.

If you've never heard of a reprex before, you might want to start by reading the tidyverse.org help page. The reprex dos and don'ts are also useful.

Demographics <- data.frame(Race=character(0),Age=numeric(0),Gender=character(0),Education=numeric(0))
Demographics
Demographics<-edit(Demographics)

Data1<-read.table("Demographics.txt", header=TRUE, sep=" ")
Data1

I think, you have two different problems here.

One, when you call edit you are probably getting something along the lines of Error in check_for_XQuartz() : X11 library is missing: install XQuartz from xquartz.macosforge.org (that's what I'm getting on mac as well). The solution to your problem is in error message.

Second problem comes from the fact that your edit command didn't work correctly. If it did, you would've probably saved your table as Demographics.txt that read.table would then read. Since it failed, you don't have the file and it fails to read it in.