Error in tokenize(reference, what = c("word")) : unused argument (what = c("word"))

I'm really new to R, I'm sorry!

I'm trying to tokenize a txt by word and getting errors with all commands I try, but this one's the most infuriating and nonsensical one. I'm trying a simple-looking

> tokenwords <- tokenize(reference, what = c("word"))

which looks like a basic R command and I got here. I understand that if I excluded "what" bit it should default to tokenizing by word, but that's not the case: it tokenizes by line, as the data was set up beforehand.

Why am I getting the below error, then? What does it MEAN "unused argument?"

Error in tokenize(reference, what = c("word")) : 
  unused argument (what = c("word"))

I've also tried unnest_tokens and the tokenizer package and they give me different, unexplained errors as well, I just thought I'd pick the simplest-looking error.

What is the result of

getAnywhere (tokenize) 

?

> getAnywhere (tokenize) 
A single object matching ‘tokenize’ was found
It was found in the following places
  package:readr
  namespace:readr
with value

function (file, tokenizer = tokenizer_csv(), skip = 0, n_max = -1L) 
{
    ds <- datasource(file, skip = skip, skip_empty_rows = FALSE)
    tokenize_(ds, tokenizer, n_max)
}
<bytecode: 0x000002c17fe1b3e8>
<environment: namespace:readr>

(Looks like it's indeed from a specific library and not from R, sorry!)

That link suggests that the quateda::tokenize function is depreciated which may be a problem and depending on what packages you load, and their order, the readr package also has a tokenize function which may have overridden the quateda function.

I think we need more of your code and some sample data.

I'm trying to follow this sentiment analysis tutorial with those same files (here, I've been trying it with the first one by Adams) except pretty early on I hit

# tokenize
tokens <- data_frame(text = fileText) %>% unnest_tokens(word, text)