Getting silent error when checking value of uninitialized reactive variable

Hello guys, I am quite new to developing in Shiny. I came across a rather strange non-specific error in this RegEx:

library(shiny)

ui <- fluidPage(
  sidebarLayout(
    sidebarPanel(
      selectInput("FileInput", label = "Dataset", choices = ls("package:datasets")),
      checkboxInput("cmpr", "Compare with old dataset?"),
      uiOutput("getOldData"),
      actionButton("make", label = "Never does anything")
    ),
    mainPanel(
      h3("Showing  data"),
      tabsetPanel(
        tabPanel("New data", tableOutput("first")),
        tabPanel("Old data", tableOutput("second"))
      )
    )
  )
)

server <- function(input, output, session) {
  datasetInput <- eventReactive(input$FileInput, get(input$FileInput, "package:datasets")) # load dataset

output$getOldData <- renderUI({
    req(input$cmpr)
    selectInput("FileInputOld", label = "Dataset", choices = ls("package:datasets")) # show options for 2nd dataset if wanted
  })

datasetInputOld <- eventReactive(input$FileInputOld, get(input$FileInputOld, "package:datasets")) # load 2nd dataset
  observeEvent(datasetInput(), output$first <- renderTable(datasetInput()))
  observeEvent(datasetInputOld(), output$second <- renderTable(datasetInputOld()))

observeEvent(input$make, {
    if (!(datasetInputOld())) { # gets silent error visible only in debug mode
      print("Error 1") # this never happens
    } else {
      print("Error 2") # this never happens either
    }
  })
}

shinyApp(ui = ui, server = server)

Perhaps it is due to my lack of knowledge, but I find it interesting since the error is silent and non-specific (when accessing datasetInputOld() in the example above R gives: "Error: " and that's it..

Cheers,
Jan

Here is a more minimal reprex to create a silent error of the kind you describe.
I also provide a custom handler you can adopt for your own purpose if you wish.