Ggplot and excel graph looking different

Hello,

I'm a bit of a novice at R and ggplot, but have been trying to learn to use them for creating graphs with my data, but I've run into a bit of a problem.

I have produced a graph using ggplot and one on excel from the same data, but there are slight differences, despite using the same data both times.

I also tried to outline the bars on the barplot in R, but I ended up with strange sections as you can see in the second picture. Some of these are on the variables where there is a discrepancy between the two graphs.

Does anyone have any idea what might be causing all of this? I've included the code I used for the barplot below:

ggplot(data=Initial_iron_experiments, mapping=aes(x=Sample, y=Percentage_killing, fill=Dilution))+
geom_bar(stat="identity", position="dodge", colour="black")+
scale_y_continuous("Percentage killing", breaks=c(0,10,20,30,40,50,60,70,80,90,100))+
labs(title="Killing effect of P.aeruginosa on R.microsporus")+
theme(plot.title=element_text(hjust=0.5))

It looks like you have multiple bars plotted one on top of the other. This occurs when you have more than one row of data for a given group of data. In your case, there can be more than one row of data for a given combination of Sample and Dilution and each of these values is plotted one on top of the other as separate bars.

If you show us a sample of your data, we can provide more specific feedback. For now, here's an example with the built in mtcars data frame that shows the same issue you're having. The second graph uses transparency (alpha=0.3) to make the overplotting more easily visible.

library(tidyverse)

ggplot(mtcars, aes(x=factor(cyl), y=mpg, fill=factor(am))) +
  geom_bar(stat="identity", colour="black", position="dodge") +
  theme_bw()

ggplot(mtcars, aes(x=factor(cyl), y=mpg, fill=factor(am))) +
  geom_bar(stat="identity", colour="black", position="dodge", alpha=0.3) +
  theme_bw()