Help Debugging Unexpected Symbol Error

Hello!
I am new to R, I have been able to piece together how to pull data using SQL languange and I can get it work on smaller piece of code. However, I have a big SQL query and it is throwing an error, I can't seem to figure out why. The query works just fine running it in other applications.

Run I try to run it I get this error:

Error: unexpected symbol in "um_ship, start_slot_id, end_slot_id, a.report_date, Assigment_travel/12 as Assignment_travel_ft, travel_distance/12 as travel_distance_ft, pick_seq_Start, pick_seq_end, case when substring(sta"

Below is the piece that says is failing and below that is the full code. In addition I have this whole query in one line in the script.

um_ship, start_slot_id, end_slot_id, a.report_date, Assigment_travel/12 as Assignment_travel_ft, travel_distance/12 as travel_distance_ft, pick_seq_Start, pick_seq_end, case when substring(sta
con <- dbConnect(odbc::odbc(),
        Driver = "SQL Server",
        server = "DATABASE", 
        Uid = 'USERID',
        Pwd = 'PASSWORD')