Help with splitting JSON column from dataframe

Hi there, first time posting.

I'm looking for some assistance with dealing with a dataframe which contains a JSON column (I hope I am describing it accurately as such, I'm fairly new to dealing with data of this kind). I have some data I have collected from a pilot experiment. One part asks participants several different questions about the experiment. All the questions and responses have then been saved in one single column in the dataframe called "response". The structure for one row is as follows:

{"Moral":"Should contribute money","behaviour":"I wanted to win", "Understanding":"5","Age":"62", "Gender":"Female", "Nationality":"White"}

What I would like, is to be able to split these into individual columns so that each question and response is placed in its own column. In other words, get 6 different columns for each of these responses.

I hope that this makes sense and is clear? Any help for this would be greatly appreciated. Here is a link to the data in question, which I imagine may make things clearer.

Have you taken a look at the jsonlite package? (link to quickstart, below)
https://cran.r-project.org/web/packages/jsonlite/vignettes/json-aaquickstart.html
It can take key-value pairs and simplify them into a data frame.

No I haven't, thank you so much this seems really helpful!

1 Like

Many thanks for your reply.

Unfortunately, this doesn't seem to have solved my issue. Using fromJSON on specifically the "response" column provided this error

Error: parse error: trailing garbage

I tried this on a different dataframe, one which contains a column with only a single key value pair {Prestige:0} and it did not produce any error, however fromJSON simply converted this to a dataframe with a single column which maintained this format {Prestige:0}.

If you had any further suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it. For example, perhaps I was mistaken and this is not JSON data at all.

Many thanks