How Do I Show Levels In R?

I've been tasked with using a one-way ANOVA test on some data. However, the data used in examples online doesn't look like the data given to me. This is where I'm having trouble because I need to find the levels to start the ANOVA process (see below). Any suggestions on how I can get past the first step?

For ANOVA,

(1) show the levels --> levels (my_data$group)

(2) re-order the levels --> my_data$group <- ordered(my_data$group , levels = c("...:, "...", "..."))

(3) use dplyr

(4) use ggpubr

(5) create boxplot and plotmeans

(6) compute ANOVA test

Hello,
Assuming your data was in the form of a data.frame called tc_frame
and assuming that you had a factor variable called my_awesome_group for which you wanted to discover the levels.
then typing the following into the console , would be the way to go !

levels(tc_frame$my_awesome_group)
1 Like

So I'm brand new at r and I have no idea what you just said (I'm so so sorry). I have attached a picture of the excel data that I have uploaded to rstudio but I'm having trouble converting the data to one-way ANOVA. Could you please help me walk through the basic steps?

That's ok. Everyone starts somewhere.
Rstudio roughly breaks down like this

Section 2 being a console where you write R commands.

Your data frame is called Phylum_Data_for_R
Which variable is the grouping one whose levels you want to investigate?

1 Like

So the top row is phylum (variable 1) and the left column is the sites tested (variable 2). Each site has a certain amount of phylum present. I don't know which variable to use because I don't really understand the role of groups and levels. What do you suggest?

It seems like you're hazy on your intentions.
You want to see if there are statistical differences in the means of quanities tested across various sites for some set of phylum ?

Here is an example where I do that, and I think you could adapt it to cover your case.