how to generate the dummy variable for this variable?

I am a novice of R. This variable, test.ind, has 2 levels. It's an indicator for whether the customer participated in the program; "R"=participated, "C"=nonparticipant (control).

The question is: Convert the variable test.ind to a 0/1 indicator variable (an integer), and name it treat, where customers enrolled in the program are assigned a value of 1, and customers not enrolled in the program are assigned a value of 0.

How should I do that?

> dput(head(newdata, 5)[c("test.ind")])
structure(list(test.ind = structure(c(2L, 2L, 2L, 2L, 2L), .Label = c("C", 
"R"), class = "factor")), row.names = c(NA, 5L), class = "data.frame")

I changed your dataset a little, as it was only containing "R".
Are you sure you want integer values? I'd go with boolean (see participatedBool)

participated <- structure(list(test.ind = structure(c(2L, 1L, 1L, 2L, 2L), .Label = c("C", "R"), class = "factor")), row.names = c(NA, 5L), class = "data.frame")

participatedInt <- as.integer(participated$test.ind)-1
print(participatedInt)

participatedBool <- as.logical(participatedInt)
print(participatedBool)

What does your first line mean? My data set has tons of observations. I just give 5 obs as a data example.

chiaoyi
Please see the Forum's Homework Policy.
FAQ: Homework Policy

The first line assigns your example list, to a named object with the name participated
You could assign your own list to the same name

But I already have a variable named test.ind. Why do I still need to generate a new variable called participated?

use whatever name you want, but you need to apply transformations, like subtracting by one and casting to logical type

I see. But how to add this new variable to my data frame? I tried this, but it fails.

newdata <- newdata %>% participated <- as.integer(newdata$test.ind)-1

you should avoid assignment <- more than once on a 'line' of code... its confusing at the least :slight_smile:
Here is a full example.