How to loop through columns and create 2 different graphs using the same data

I'm somewhat new to R and have tried to create a code that helps me loop trough a large dataset and thereby produce 2 graphs per column. In doing so it has to take into account some specified variables and differentiate between them (see code). In the first graph it should make a boxplot/scatterplot where I need to differentiate between the control and the diseased cohort. in addition to that I want to see the difference between people with an event vs no event.

This is actually the code that does work. I now what to add a code where I combine that graph with a histogram of the variable so I can have some clue about the distribution of the data. I tried to add that to the function but that somehow does not work

In addition I would like to combine both graphs into 1 page and in the end loop through the whole set of variables and save it as an image (see code)

please find below the code I have so far. Any suggestions are very much appreciated

library(ggplot2)
library(purrr)

Create a dataframe with random numbers and 2 groups

group <- c("Control","PAD","Control","PAD","PAD", "Control","PAD","Control","PAD","PAD", "Control","PAD","Control","PAD","PAD")
b <- round(runif(15, 1, 7)) 
c <- round(runif(15, 1, 3)) 
d <- round(runif(15, 3, 8)) 
e <- round(runif(15, 1, 5))
event <- c("no event", "event" , "no event" , "no event" , "no event", "no event", "event", "no event", "no event" , "no event" , "no event" , "no event", "no event", "event", "event")

Join the variables to create a data frame

df <- data.frame(group, b,c,d, e, event)
df

rm(group, b, c, d, e, event)

make a new color that gives a specific color the the labels (used # for color labeling the groups in 1 graph)

df$color <- "color"
for (i in 1:dim(df)[1]){
  if (df$group[i]=="Control") {
    df$color[i] <- "Control" # in de column PAD, if the control is control give the color the string "control"
  }
}