How to predict after creating keras model (done after 'complie', 'fit', 'history'..)?

I am a beginner of keras and tensorflow. I bought the book, Deep learning in R' and tried to follow the example code.
But here, I am wondering after I made the model using 'keras_model_sequential'. I did complied model and all ex code said about checking the history with 'fit' or 'fit_generator' lilke

history <- model %>% fit_generator(
train_gen,
steps_per_epoch = 500,
epoch = 20,
validation_data = val_gen,
validation_steps = val_steps
)

then? then what? where is the prediction? how can I predict other data or test data?
maybe it is silly question, but please help me understand.

Welcome to the community!

I'm learning keras myself, but with python. There, if you have a fitted model, say model, you can predict using model.predict(testX).

In the R version (which I haven't used myself), there are functions predict and predict_classes.

You can look at the examples provided here and here.

2 Likes

The keras models behave differently than most other R objects. They are modified in place, meaning after passing the training results to the history object (which will contain training metrics and so on) the model object itself will be different (trained).

You can (and should; a model takes a while to train) save it by piping it to the save_model_hdf5() function:

model %>% 
  save_model_hdf5("a_file_somehere_on_yer_fs.h5")

The hdf5 file is universal, meaning that it can be read and understood by the snake people. Which is kinda helpful, as there seems to be more Python than R Keras practitioners.