How to put the specimen ID in the graphics

Hi! I'm a beginner in R.
I have a question important to me that I don't know how to solve. I would like to see the ID (i.e., catalog number) of each individual in my graphics (PCA, Regression..) to identify each one of them. The ID's are written in the TPS file that I have imported into R, my problem is that I don't know what function I have to use to make them appear in the graphics. I used the function: text(PCA$x, PCA$y, row.names(gpa$coords)) but I don't get the IDs but the numbers. I would be very grateful if you could help me.

My workflow is as follows:

library(geomorph)
tps <-readland.tps(file.choose("Semilandmarks_File.tps"), specID = c("ID"), readcurves = TRUE, warnmsg = T)
slides <- define.sliders(c(2:8))
gpa <- gpagen(A=tps,curves = slides, PrinAxes = TRUE, Proj = TRUE, ProcD=FALSE, print.progress = TRUE)
gdf <- geomorph.data.frame(gpa) attributes(gpa)
PCA <- gm.prcomp(gpa$coords) summary(PCA)
plot(PCA)
> text(PCA$x, PCA$y, row.names(gpa$coords))

Many thanks!! :slight_smile:

Hi,

Welcome to the RStudio community!

I'm not familiar with the gpagen function, so I don't know what the data frame looks like, but normally the approach you took should work, unless there is are no rownames in the data frame. Here is a working example

myData = data.frame(x = 1:10, y = runif(10), row.names = letters[1:10])

plot(myData$x, myData$y)
text(myData$x, myData$y, rownames(myData), offset = 0.3, pos = 4)

Created on 2020-08-10 by the reprex package (v0.3.0)

Make sure the gpa$coords object is a dataframe with rownames. If you keep having trouble, create a reprex so we can run your code. A reprex consists of the minimal code and data needed to recreate the issue/question you're having. You can find instructions how to build and share one here:

Finally, you could consider using ggplot instead of the basic plot function, as this is way move powerful and versatile. The geom_label or geom_text will do the trick there.